BFL CANADA INSURANCE PROGRAM FOR DRAGON BOAT CANADA MEMBERS


CLUBS, FESTIVALS AND COACHES AND STEERSPERSONS


About BFL CANADA

BFL CANADA is 100% Canadian owned and one of the largest employee-owned commercial insurance brokerage/risk management services firms in Canada. The organization was established in Montreal in 1987 and today services clients from thirteen offices across the country. We have built our business over the years by providing superior service and innovative solutions for our clients. Our secret is simple and summarized by our President: “it’s simply hard work and dedication…the same hard work and dedication our clients invest in their own organizations”.


F.A.Q.
1. What is covered under a Dragon Boat Policy?

Day to day dragon boat operations include activities usual to dragon boating such as indoor and outdoor water training, dry land training, practices, races, social activities, fund raisers etc.

2. Are Waivers required for participants and non-members?

We recommend all Clubs obtained signed waivers for liability reasons.

3. Do I need to insure my Boats under my Festival policy if they are already listed under my Club policy?

No, please only list them under your club policy. If you have Additional equipment that you have not already insured under your club policy please add this to your Festival application.

4. How many members make up a crew?

We understand this may not be the exact number of your crew, however for Insurance rating purposes a base number of 22 members make up a crew.

5. How do I add an Additional Insured?

Please add your Additional Insured Information at the same time as your Club information and a referral will be submitted for a licensed agent to review. OR Please log back in and updated the Additional Insured sections, your request will be submitted for a licensed agent to review.

6. Do we have coverage for our Club if we travel to an event outside of Canada?

Canada only. Should you have an event outside of Canada, please contact us at dbc@bflcanada.ca for review.

7. We have a Junior Club, is this covered under the Club Package?

Should your Club have a Junior Club, please contact us at dbc@bflcanada.ca for review.

8. Is setting up a Kiosk included in my Club policy?

Yes, social activities, fund raisers, and providing information about the sport are covered under Dragon Boat operations

9. Are Tug of Wars covered under our Festival Policy?

Yes.

10. As a Coach, do I have coverage outside of Canada?

Canada only.

11. My Company does not run a Dragon Boat Club however we do host Festivals for Dragon Boat Clubs. What kind of insurance would I be eligible for if my company is a member of DBC?

As a member of Dragon Boat Canada your Company qualifies for the DBC Festival Insurance through the Dragon Boat Program. You will need to fill in a separate application for each Festival.

12. Does my Club cover me as a Coach?

No, you will need to obtain your own policy. Please go to the Coaches and Steersperson Liability section.

PROGRAM INFORMATION AND DEFINITIONS

Commercial Package Policy


Property of Every Description


This section provides coverage against All Risks; subject to the policy exclusions, of direct physical damage to the club’s and/or festival’s declared property based on a replacement cost basis. This could include boats, laptops, office furniture, life jackets, paddles and other property belonging to the insured.

Members should report the replacement cost values of their Property.


Business Interruption (For Profit Clubs Only)


Also, includes an option for Rental Reimbursement Coverage which will pay the cost of a rental boat(s) if your insured boat(s) is damaged due to a covered loss.


Boats and Laptops


This section provides coverage against “All Risks” of direct physical damage to the club’s and/or festival’s declared boats and laptops based on an actual cash value basis.


Non Owned Automobile Liability


Non-Owned Auto is liability coverage for a vehicle that is owned by an individual other than the company, but is used on a company’s behalf. It is intended for those “incidental” accidents – such as those that might occur when you send an employee or volunteer on an errand to buy lunch or go to the bank. The employee’s own automobile policy would respond first, and the Non Owned Automobile liability under the Company’s general liability policy would respond as excess.


Commercial General Liability (CGL) for Festivals and Clubs:


This coverage will cover festival and/or club organizers and/or volunteers as a result of bodily injury(ies) and/or property damage incurred by third parties, resulting from the negligent acts of the festival and/or club organizers and/or volunteers for the organizing and running of a sanctioned Dragon Boat activity, subject to the policy terms and conditions. The liability policy also provides coverage for defence costs incurred to defend insured allegations stipulated in any written action against the festival and/or club and/or volunteer.


Clubs - coverage provides insurance protection, based on the specific coverages chosen, for the clubs’ day to day dragon boat operations. This includes activities usual to dragon boating such as indoor and outdoor water training, dry land training, practices, races, social activities, fund raisers etc.


Festival - Coverage provides insurance protection for the club or organization that assumes the responsibility for hosting, directing and organizing a Festival, which takes place at a predetermined time and place and for specific insured dates.


Liquor Liability for Festivals


Liquor Liability gives protection against liability or lawsuits brought against the clubs and/or festivals that hold single or multi-day functions involving alcohol, even if they are not actually serving the alcohol. The development of liquor liability policies was the direct result of changing legal climate towards the responsibility of those who provide liquor to the public. Liquor liability is not limited to those licensed to serving the alcohol.


Crime


This section provides limited coverage for theft of money from the clubs and festivals by their employee(s) and/or volunteer(s) who are part of the club or festival and have access to the club’s or festival’s funds.


Your organization may have access to funds collected from members or through fund raising events. This money can be insured against a hold-up or a break-in at the home of the custodian and is an important component of the insurance as it is not always possible to make bank deposits immediately following a fundraiser. Such a loss could have a serious effect on the Organizations’ operations. This form provides coverage against money and securities on a 24 hour basis against the perils of theft, burglary, hold up and fire. The theft of funds must be reported to your local policy authority first in order to make claim.


Coaches and Steerspersons Liability Policy


This Commercial General Liability insurance policy is specifically designed to provide liability coverage for Dragon Boat Canada certified coaches for their activities as dragon boat coaches. The Club and/or Festival policies do not extend liability coverage to coaching activities; therefore the Coaches Liability coverage should be secured by all DBC certified coaches.


Directors and Officers Liability Policy


Directors and Officers are held to an ever increasing high standard in their duties to conduct their business operations and activities. Directors and Officers have 3 basic duties to fulfil:


1.   Duty of Diligence (Duty of Care): Act reasonably, in good faith, in the organization’s best interest.

2.   Duty of Loyalty: Place the interest of the organization before your own

3.   Duty of Obedience: Act within the scope of the organization, within applicable rules and laws


D&O Insurance provides coverage for the Directors and Officers for their exposure to litigation arising out of their conduct as a director or officer of the club, team or association, subject to the policy terms and conditions. This policy covers the Directors and Officers for their legal liability as a result of a ‘wrongful act’. Note: This policy excludes bodily injury and property damage as this exposure is picked up under the Commercial General Liability policy. A separate application will be required to obtain this coverage.


Cyber Liability Policy


Cyber Liability is an extremely important coverage in today’s electronic world. This coverage has 2 components to coverage:

First Party Coverages (which helps protect the financial exposures to the organization) and Third Party Coverages (which helps protect against the damages caused to third parties as a result of the organizations negligence).


Privacy coverage is the financial costs that arise as a result of a violation of data you keep in your files (both electronic and paper files). If a hacker were to gain access to your records, this is considered a breach which results in the cost to notify each individual person or organization whose information was stolen as well as the cost to monitor the individuals or organizations credit rating to ensure the breach of their records does not harm their credit score.


Cyber Liability is financial damages to third parties caused by viruses that emanate from your electronic devices. This could be as simple as someone sending an unauthorized email with a virus attached to the email or a Trojan horse attachment. This could cause great damage to a third party including the loss of revenue associated with downtime of their servers.


There is a separate Cyber questionnaire that must be completed should you want to secure this coverage.


Legal Expense Insurance


Legal Expense Insurance provides coverage for legal costs incurred during the pursuit or defence of a claim, benefitting those who otherwise fall between the cracks of our current system and provides different coverage options available for various aspects of everyday life.


DASbusiness – a business policy for Dragon Boat Clubs that ensures that the cost associated with today’s complicated business landscape are looked after. Coverage includes employment disputes, legal defence, statutory license protection, property protection, bodily injury, and tax protection. Contract dispute and debt recovery can also be added.


Most importantly – all types of coverage include access to a legal advice helpline.

It’s like having a lawyer on retainer: with unlimited access to telephone legal advice for any business or personal related issue plus access to the courts - anybody, for which the legal expense of a lawsuit would create financial hardship, would benefit from legal expense insurance. A separate application will be required to obtain this coverage.


Event Cancellation Policy


Event Cancellation Insurance provides coverage for the loss of costs and expenses or revenues that result from the cancellation, abandonment, postponement, interruption or relocation of an event (in whole or in part). The cancellation may be due to uncontrollable circumstances such as inclement weather, natural catastrophes, power failures, strikes, and non-appearance of performers. Coverage typically has to be procured prior to 14 days of the event otherwise insurance companies will not provide the coverage. **Please note Pandemic coverage is not available.

PROGRAMME D'ASSURANCE BFL CANADA POUR LES MEMBRES DE DRAGON BOAT CANADA


CLUBS, FESTIVALS ET ENTRAÎNEURS ET STEERSPERSONS


Au sujet de BFL CANADA

BFL CANADA est une société canadienne à part entière et l’une des plus grandes sociétés de services de courtage en assurance et de gestion du risque en assurance des entreprises au Canada. L'organisation a été créée à Montréal en 1987 et dessert aujourd'hui des clients répartis dans treize bureaux à travers le pays. Nous avons construit notre entreprise au fil des ans en fournissant un service supérieur et des solutions innovantes à nos clients. Notre secret est simple et résumé par notre président: «C’est simplement un travail dur et un dévouement… le même travail et le même dévouement que nos clients investissent dans leurs propres organisations».


F.A.Q.
1. Qu'est-ce qui est couvert par la police des bateaux-dragons?

Les activités quotidiennes des bateaux-dragons comprennent les activités habituelles du bateau-dragon, telles que l'entraînement aquatique intérieur et extérieur, l'entraînement sur la terre ferme, les pratiques, les courses, les activités sociales, les collectes de fonds, etc.

2. Des dérogations sont-elles requises pour les participants et les non-membres?

(Non, pas obligatoire, mais nous recommandons…) ou Oui, nous recommandons à tous les clubs de faire signer des renonciations

3. Dois-je assurer mes bateaux sous ma police de festival s'ils sont déjà listés sous ma police de club?

Non, veuillez seulement les énumérer dans la politique de votre club. Si vous avez du matériel supplémentaire que vous n'avez pas déjà assuré en vertu de la politique de votre club, veuillez l'ajouter à votre demande d'inscription au festival.

4. Combien de membres composent un équipage?

Aux fins des tarifs, nous avons déterminé que 22 membres constituaient un équipage.

5. Comment puis-je ajouter un assuré supplémentaire?

Veuillez envoyer le nom complet de l'entité à ajouter avec l'adresse postale complète à dbc@bflcanada.ca

6. Avons-nous une couverture pour notre club si nous nous rendons à un événement à l'extérieur du Canada?

TBA

7. Nous avons un club junior. Cela est-il couvert par le forfait club?

TBA

8. L’installation d’un kiosque est-elle incluse dans la politique de mon club?

Oui, les activités sociales, les collectes de fonds et la fourniture d'informations sur le sport sont couvertes par les opérations de bateau-dragon.

9. Tug of Wars est-il couvert par notre politique relative aux festivals?

Oui.

10. En tant qu'entraîneur, ai-je une couverture à l'extérieur du Canada?

Oui - le territoire de couverture est mondial

11. J’ai une entreprise qui organise des festivals mais je ne «possède» aucun festival. À quel type d'assurance serais-je admissible si mon entreprise est membre de DBC?

En tant que membre de votre société DBC, le club se qualifie pour l’assurance du festival DBC dans le cadre du programme Bateau-dragon. Vous devrez remplir une demande distincte pour cette couverture.

12. Quelles sont les différences de couverture entre l'assurance de responsabilité commerciale que je peux acheter en tant qu'entraîneur et ce que mon club doit couvrir pour leurs entraîneurs?

une. Définir la responsabilité et la différence

INFORMATIONS SUR LE PROGRAMME ET DÉFINITIONS

Politique de paquet commercial


Couverture du contenu


Cette section offre une couverture contre «tous les risques» de dommages physiques directs causés à la propriété déclarée du club et / ou du festival sur la base d’un coût de remplacement. Cela pourrait inclure du mobilier de bureau, des gilets de sauvetage, des pagaies et d’autres biens appartenant à l’assuré.

Les membres doivent signaler les coûts de remplacement de leurs contenus pour lesquels ils souhaitent être assurés.


Interruption de travail


En outre, inclut une option pour la garantie de remboursement de location qui paiera le coût du bateau de location si votre bateau assuré est endommagé en raison d’une cause de perte couverte.


Bateaux, remorques et ordinateurs portables


Cette section offre une couverture contre «tous les risques» de dommages physiques directs causés aux bateaux, remorques et ordinateurs portables déclarés du club et / ou du festival sur la base de la valeur réelle.


Assurance automobile des non-propriétaires


Auto non détenue est une assurance responsabilité pour un véhicule qui appartient à une personne autre que la société mais qui est utilisé pour le compte de celle-ci. Il est destiné aux accidents «accidentels», tels que ceux qui peuvent survenir lorsque vous envoyez un employé interne ou faites du bénévolat à une course pour acheter un repas ou aller à la banque. La propre police de l’employé en matière d’automobile répondrait en premier, et la responsabilité de l’automobile non détenue en vertu de la police de responsabilité générale de la Société serait considérée comme excédentaire.


Responsabilité Civile Générale Commerciale (CGL) pour les festivals et les clubs:


Cette couverture couvrira les organisateurs du festival et / ou du club et / ou les bénévoles à la suite de blessures corporelles et / ou de dommages matériels causés à des tiers par des actes de négligence de la part des organisateurs du festival et / ou du club et / ou de bénévoles. pour l'organisation et la gestion d'une activité de bateau-dragon sanctionnée, sous réserve des conditions générales de la politique. La police de responsabilité couvre également les frais de défense engagés pour la défense des allégations de l'assuré stipulées dans toute action écrite contre le festival et / ou le club et / ou les bénévoles.


Clubs - la couverture fournit une protection d’assurance, sur la base des garanties spécifiques choisies, pour les opérations quotidiennes des clubs de dragons par les clubs. Cela inclut les activités habituelles du bateau-dragon telles que l'entraînement aquatique intérieur et extérieur, l'entraînement sur la terre ferme, les pratiques, les courses, les activités sociales, les collectes de fonds, etc.


Festival - La couverture offre une protection d'assurance au club ou à l'organisation qui assume la responsabilité de l'organisation, de la direction et de l'organisation d'un festival, qui se déroule à une heure et à un endroit prédéterminés et à des dates assurées déterminées.


Responsabilité en matière d'alcool pour les festivals


La responsabilité liée à l'alcool procure une protection contre les poursuites ou les poursuites intentées contre les clubs et / ou les festivals qui organisent des activités pour un ou plusieurs jours impliquant de l'alcool, même s'ils ne le servent pas réellement. L'élaboration de politiques de responsabilité des boissons alcoolisées était le résultat direct de l'évolution du climat juridique en faveur de la responsabilité de ceux qui fournissent de l'alcool au public. La responsabilité en matière d’alcool ne se limite pas aux restaurants et pubs agréés.


Crime


Cette section offre une couverture limitée contre le vol d’argent des clubs et des festivals par leurs employés et / ou leurs bénévoles qui font partie du club ou du festival et ont accès aux fonds du club ou du festival.


Votre organisation peut avoir accès aux fonds recueillis auprès des membres ou lors d'événements de collecte de fonds. Cet argent peut être assuré contre un hold-up ou une effraction au domicile du dépositaire et constitue un élément important de l'assurance car il n'est pas toujours possible de faire des dépôts bancaires immédiatement après une levée de fonds. Une telle perte pourrait avoir de graves conséquences sur le fonctionnement des organisations. Ce formulaire offre une protection contre l'argent et les titres 24 heures sur 24 contre les risques de vol, de cambriolage, de braquage et d'incendie. Le vol de fonds doit être signalé en premier lieu à votre autorité politique locale pour pouvoir faire une réclamation.


Politique de responsabilité des entraîneurs et des Steerpersons


La présente police d’assurance de responsabilité civile commerciale est spécifiquement conçue pour fournir une couverture de responsabilité pour les autocars certifiés Dragon Boat Canada pour leurs activités en tant qu’entraîneurs de bateaux-dragons. Les politiques du club et / ou du festival ne couvrent pas la responsabilité civile des activités d’entraînement; par conséquent, la couverture de responsabilité des entraîneurs devrait être garantie par tous les entraîneurs certifiés DBC.


Politique de responsabilité des administrateurs et dirigeants


Les administrateurs et les dirigeants doivent respecter des normes toujours plus élevées pour mener à bien leurs activités et activités commerciales. Les administrateurs et les dirigeants ont 3 tâches de base à remplir:


1.   Devoir de diligence: agir raisonnablement, de bonne foi, dans l’intérêt supérieur de l’organisation.

2.   Devoir de loyauté: placez l'intérêt de l'organisation avant le vôtre

3.   Devoir d'obéissance: Agir dans le cadre de l'organisation, dans le respect des lois et règlements applicables


D & O Insurance couvre les administrateurs et les dirigeants en cas de litige découlant de leur conduite en tant qu’administrateur ou dirigeant du club, de l’équipe ou de l’association, sous réserve des conditions générales de la police. Cette police couvre les administrateurs et les dirigeants pour leur responsabilité juridique résultant d’un «acte illicite». Remarque: Cette politique exclut les blessures corporelles et les dommages matériels, car cette exposition est couverte en vertu de la police d'assurance responsabilité civile commerciale.


Politique de cyber responsabilité


La cyber-responsabilité est une couverture extrêmement importante dans le monde électronique actuel. Cette couverture a 2 composantes à la couverture:

Assurances de tiers (qui aident à protéger les risques financiers auxquels l’organisation est exposée) et d’assurances de tiers (qui aident à protéger contre les dommages causés à des tiers par suite de la négligence de l’organisation).


La protection de la vie privée correspond aux coûts financiers résultant d’une violation des données que vous conservez dans vos fichiers (fichiers électroniques et papier). Si un pirate informatique devait accéder à vos dossiers, il s'agit d'une violation entraînant des frais pour informer chaque personne ou organisation dont les informations ont été volées, ainsi que des frais de surveillance de la cote de crédit d'individus ou d'organisations, afin de garantir la violation des droits. leurs dossiers ne nuit pas à leur pointage de crédit.


La cyber-responsabilité est un dommage financier causé à des tiers par des virus émanant de vos appareils électroniques. Cela pourrait être aussi simple que quelqu'un qui envoie un courrier électronique non autorisé avec un virus attaché à l'e-mail ou une pièce jointe d'un cheval de Troie. Cela pourrait causer de graves dommages à des tiers, notamment des pertes de revenus liées aux temps d'arrêt de leurs serveurs.


Si vous souhaitez sécuriser cette couverture, vous devez remplir un questionnaire Cyber distinct.


Assurance frais juridiques


Assurance frais juridiques couvre les frais juridiques liés à la poursuite ou à la défense d'une demande d'indemnisation, au bénéfice de ceux qui se trouvent entre les mailles du système actuel et propose différentes options de couverture pour divers aspects de la vie quotidienne.


DASbusiness - une politique commerciale pour les clubs de bateaux-dragons qui assure que les coûts associés au paysage économique complexe d’aujourd’hui sont pris en charge. La couverture inclut les conflits du travail, la défense légale, la protection légale des licences, la protection de la propriété, les dommages corporels et la protection fiscale. Des différends contractuels et le recouvrement de créances peuvent également être ajoutés.


Plus important encore, tous les types de couverture incluent l’accès à une ligne d’aide juridique.

C’est comme avoir un avocat: un accès illimité à des conseils juridiques par téléphone pour toute question professionnelle ou personnelle, ainsi qu’un accès aux tribunaux: toute personne pour laquelle les frais juridiques d’une action en justice créeraient des difficultés financières bénéficierait de l’assurance frais juridiques.


Politique d'annulation d'événement


Assurance annulation d'événement couvre les pertes de coûts et dépenses ou les revenus résultant de l`annulation, de l`abandon, du report, de l`interruption ou du déplacement d`un événement (en totalité ou en partie). L’annulation peut être due à des circonstances incontrôlables telles que des conditions météorologiques défavorables, des catastrophes naturelles, des pannes de courant, des grèves et la non-comparution des artistes interprètes. La couverture doit généralement être souscrite avant les 14 jours suivant l`événement, faute de quoi les compagnies d`assurance ne la fourniront pas.